Somerville's Escape

(15 Reviews)

Location: Newport Type: House View: Oceanview
4 Rooms 2.0 Baths Sleeps 12 Dogs Allowed
Calendar Clear Dates
Available
Unavailable
Check-In
Check-Out
December 2019
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
01 02 03 04 05 06 07
08 09 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31 01 02 03 04
05 06 07 08 09 10 11
January 2020
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
    01 02 03 04
05 06 07 08 09 10 11
12 13 $199 14 $199 15 $199 16 $199 17 $237 18 $237
19 $199 20 $199 21 $199 22 $199 23 $199 24 $237 25 $237
26 $199 27 $199 28 $199 29 $199 30 $199 31 $237 01 $237
02 $199 03 $199 04 $199 05 $199 06 $199 07 $237 08 $237
October 2020
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
     01 $348 02 $445 03 $445
04 $348 05 $348 06 $348 07 $348 08 $348 09 $445 10 $445
11 $348 12 $348 13 $348 14 $348 15 $348 16 17
18 $199 19 $199 20 $199 21 $199 22 $199 23 24
25 $199 26 $199 27 $199 28 $199 29 $199 30 31
01 $199 02 $199 03 $199 04 $199 05 $199 06 07
November 2020
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
01 $199 02 $199 03 $199 04 $199 05 $199 06 07
08 $199 09 $199 10 $199 11 $199 12 $199 13 14
15 $199 16 $199 17 $199 18 $199 19 $199 20 21
22 23 $500 24 $500 25 $500 26 $500 27 $500 28 $500
29 $500 30 $199 01 $199 02 $199 03 $199 04 05
06 $199 07 $199 08 $199 09 $199 10 $199 11 12
December 2020
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
   01 $199 02 $199 03 $199 04 05
06 $199 07 $199 08 $199 09 $199 10 $199 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31 01 02
03 04 05 06 07 08 09
 * Price per night does not include taxes or fees.
Description
We invite you to come stay at Somerville's Escape, one of Newport's hidden vacation retreats. This 2500 square foot home is located on two acres of landscaped property, with panoramic ocean views and a huge oversized deck and front yard. Somerville's Escape is located just a few miles north of Newport, with two beach accesses within half a mile. This vacation home comfortably sleeps up to 12 people, with plenty of parking for up to 5 vehicles. The front yard has plenty of room for a family football or softball game, frisbee or other outdoor fun, including a picnic table to enjoy an outdoor lunch. The master bedroom features a bed fit for a king and queen. Relax after a long day at the beach in the master bath with a jetted tub. The master also has an adjacent room perfect for young kids or toddlers. The huge kitchen and living room area are great for entertaining and include a piano, a wood fireplace, a large LED TV and a great stereo sound system. The best room at Somerville's Escape is arguably the "Blue Room," otherwise known as the recreation room. This oversized man cave features Grandpa Somerville's gigantic moose rack, a new 60" LED TV, a bar with mini fridge, a blender, glasses and accessories, a ping pong table and a dart board. The blue room also has a large separate TV with a Wii for the kiddos and a stereo system. Poker chips are included in case you're feeling lucky. Each room at Somerville's escape has its own TV with Charter cable. In addition, the house also has over 300 new and vintage books to curl up with on those lazy days. This vacation home has plenty of kitchenware and amenities for large gatherings and lots of fun stuff to do during your long stay. Best of all, Somerville's Escape welcomes your pets, limit 2, who will love the huge yard! Enjoy the sand toys, kites, soccer balls, toys and games as well. Come down to Newport, and stay at Somerville's Escape with your loved ones on your next family getaway to the Oregon coast!
Please note that boats, trailers, and RVs are unfortunately not permitted. Please do not leave dogs unattended at any time in or on the property.
Amenities
  • Board Games
  • Cable TV
  • Carbon monoxide detector
  • Charcoal Grill
  • Dining Room
  • Dish Washer
  • Foosball Table
  • Mini Fridge
  • Outdoor Furniture
  • Outdoor lighting
  • Propane Grill
  • Smoke detectors
  • Stove Top
  • Washer & Dryer
  • WiFi
  • Wood Fireplace
Map
This Property
Nearby Properties
Reviews About This Property Write A Review

Beautiful home with a view

Overall satisfaction:

"Very stunning home with plenty of room for our family gathering. We were disappointed that the cable did not operate. Maintenance was unable to solve the issue."

Tamara from Roseburg

Dates of Stay 7/30/2016 - 8/1/2016
Reviewed on 08/01/2016

Good Stay

Overall satisfaction: Property condition: Location: Cleanliness: Services from rental manager:

"The house was comfortable and clean. We were pleased with the location and the great view! The only issues we had were with the kitchen faucet (hard to turn off) and only a single roll of toilet paper in each bathroom (had to buy a pack for our large group). We would definitely stay here again!"

from Lebanon

Dates of Stay 8/27/2018 - 8/29/2018
Reviewed on 08/31/2018

"Hello Karen, Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you had a wonderful stay at Somerville's Escape. We are sorry to hear that you were only supplied with one roll of toilet paper per bathroom. This should have been 2. We apologize for this inconvenience. We look forward to hosting you again soon on the Oregon coast!"

Oregon Beach Vacations

Great Rental!

Overall satisfaction: Property condition: Location: Cleanliness: Services from rental manager:

"We had a family of 11 staying in this rental and we had plenty of room! The house is beautiful and in a great location. Just off the highway but hidden. Ocean views and quick drive or walk down to the beach. The game room was an awesome feature that provided lots of fun on downtime. Lots of fun things to do close by. The house was well stocked. The only complaints we had was the house (mainly the floors) were pretty dirty. We had to sweep and vacuum upon arrival. In the game room there was quite a few broken items like games and such that should be replaced or just thrown away. All in all we had a great stay and would definitely come back!"

from Nampa

Dates of Stay 7/27/2018 - 8/1/2018
Reviewed on 08/10/2018

"Hello Debra, Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Somerville's Escape. It sounds like it was perfect for your group. We are sorry to hear that the unit was not as clean as it should have been for your stay. We would have gladly sent housekeeping back out to the home to resolve this for you. We will also look into removing or repairing the broken items in the game room. Thank you for bringing these items to our attention. We hope to have you back again soon!"

Oregon Beach Vacations

Great wedding location

Overall satisfaction:

"My wife and I had our wedding at this wonderful location. The house was large enough and the man cave was awesome! We can't say enough about how thankful we were to be able to celebrate our happy day there! If you are planning a gathering, this house and location, is the best. Thank you again owners of this fantastic home!!!"

Dean from keizer

Dates of Stay 5/13/2016 - 5/16/2016
Reviewed on 06/01/2016

Love this house! We'll be back!

Overall satisfaction: Property condition: Location: Cleanliness: Services from rental manager:

"Stayed here with a party of 11 people. It was fantastic. The house is spacious and comfortable, and the view was stunning. We thought we'd be bummed that we couldn't walk to the beach (HWY 101 is right there), but the yard is so nice the kids wanted to play in the yard. There are two beaches close by, Beverly Beach is better if you have kids or older people who can't navigate the the steep Moolack Beach. "

Kimberly M. from Portland

Dates of Stay 8/12/2019 - 8/14/2019
Reviewed on 08/16/2019

"Hello Kimberly, Thank you for your review. We are so pleased to hear that you and your family had a wonderful time at Somerville's Escape! It sounds like the kids especially enjoyed the home! We look forward to hosting you all again soon."

Oregon Beach Vacations

Perfect beach get away

Overall satisfaction: Property condition: Location: Cleanliness: Services from rental manager:

"Amazing view, perfect home, fabulous yard and amenities"

from Oregon City

Dates of Stay 10/18/2019 - 10/21/2019
Reviewed on 10/24/2019

"Hello Lori, Thank you for your review. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at Somerville's Escape. It sounds like this home had everything you needed to enjoy your time on the coast. We hope to host you again soon."

Oregon Beach Vacations

Very Nice

Overall satisfaction: Property condition: Location: Cleanliness: Services from rental manager:

"We had a small family reunion and this served the purpose and more. While this home was a bit pricey we enjoyed our stay. This house was clean and comfortable with plenty of space. The only thing of any negative form is you should give a bit better directions. We went to the house in front of this one and the home owner was not pleased."

from Juncion City

Dates of Stay 8/5/2018 - 8/7/2018
Reviewed on 08/15/2018

"Hello Phil, Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Somerville's Escape. We are glad that it suited your family's needs well. We are sorry to hear that you had trouble finding the home. We will look into the directions and make them clearer. Thank you for bringing this information to our attention. We hope to have you back again soon!"

Oregon Beach Vacations

Very nice house!

Overall satisfaction: Property condition: Location: Cleanliness: Services from rental manager:

"The house is very nice. The house and property was very spacious and private. The location was perfect for a relaxing week at the beach."

Tammy G. from Pendleton

Dates of Stay 6/23/2017 - 6/29/2017
Reviewed on 07/02/2017

"Hello Tammy, Thank you for your review. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay at Somerville's Escape. We hope this means we'll be seeing you back again for another great stay on the Oregon coast!"

Oregon Beach Vacations

great view with room for everyone

Overall satisfaction: Property condition: Location: Cleanliness: Services from rental manager:

"Large home with a very nice view of the ocean. We had a great time."

from Hillsboro

Dates of Stay 2/1/2019 - 2/3/2019
Reviewed on 02/19/2019

"Hello Tristan, Thank you for your review. We are glad to see that you had a great stay at Somerville's Escape. We hope to have you back again soon."

Oregon Beach Vacations

Great celebration

Overall satisfaction: Property condition: Location: Cleanliness: Services from rental manager:

"Our family loved celebrating the holiday season at Somerville escape. The house was a perfect size for a large group. Room for all and a separate game area away from the main living room so quiet could be found when needed. Lots of cooking supplies helped feed everyone. Loved playing table tennis and we used many of the games available. Only had a few minor problems. The view was unbelievable and it is close to some of our favorite beaches. The kids enjoyed the deer and bunnies in the year. Lots of great parking too."

Diana C. from Halsey

Dates of Stay 12/29/2017 - 12/31/2017
Reviewed on 01/02/2018

"Hello Diana, Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear that you had a wonderful time celebrating the holidays with your loved ones at Somerville's Escape! We are sad to hear that you experienced a few minor problems though. We hope you were able to get these resolved by calling in to our office, as we are available for customer service and help 24/7. We hope to see you back soon on the Oregon coast! Thank you again for your review."

Oregon Beach Vacations

Nice view, perfect for our family

Overall satisfaction: Property condition: Location: Cleanliness: Services from rental manager:

"Overall the place was great, other than having a water issue when we got there. But, OBV took care of us very quickly and gave us a discount for our troubles. We loved having the outside BBQ and fire pit. There was plenty to do for the kids with the game room, and the view was amazing. One thing I would suggest would be to have plenty of garbage bags available for guest. The recycling can was full when we got there and that was a bit of an inconvenience."

from Portland

Dates of Stay 6/16/2018 - 6/18/2018
Reviewed on 06/20/2018

"Hello Yvonne, Thank you for your review. We are glad to see that you had a great stay at Somerville's Escape. We provide each of our homes with a starter pack of supplies, which we list on our booking page. We would have gladly brought more garbage bags to the unit had we been made aware of the need for more. Thank you again for your review, and we hope to have you stay with us again soon on the Oregon coast!"

Oregon Beach Vacations

winter weekend

Overall satisfaction: Property condition: Location: Cleanliness: Services from rental manager:

"This rental house was big, well stocked, comfortable and clean. Tons of room to spread out and enjoy the great views. Huge yard for the dog was nice. Since it was so cold it would have been really nice if the house had been warmed up before our arrival- it was 54 degrees in the house when we got in- too cold for 80 year old ladies. It took hours to get the temp up to a comfort zone. It would have been super great if there had been just enough firewood to build a fire. That would be a very nice touch. There was no hot tub like was advertised. The bedrooms could use some serious updating with painting, bedding and mattresses. The TVs were only sporadically working and since it was so stormy we really wanted to watch the Olympics which we could only get it in on in a bedroom...eventually we got up behind the big TV and wiggled the HDMI cable to get it to work but without sound... Overall we had a lovely time but the house could use some attention. Thank you."

from Hood River

Dates of Stay 2/16/2018 - 2/18/2018
Reviewed on 02/20/2018

"Hello Suzi, Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Somerville's Escape. As for the hot tub, we have looked at our website listing and there is no mention of a hot tub. We are sorry if you booked via another website and it still mentions a hot tub. We will also look into fixing these issues with the home, especially the TVs. Thank you for bringing these items to our attention. We hope to see you again soon on the Oregon coast. Thank you again for your review."

Oregon Beach Vacations

Nice stay

Overall satisfaction: Property condition: Location: Cleanliness: Services from rental manager:

"Nice place, but ran out of propane for the BBQ grill. Need a brush to clean the grill. Ran out of toilet paper and paper towels. Good thing we brought an extra roll of paper towels. Bought some extra toilet paper for our use. A couple of the outdoor furniture pieces are in need of replacement. Overall the house provided enough room for our family of 12. Had a nice stay."

from TROUTDALE

Dates of Stay 6/18/2017 - 6/21/2017
Reviewed on 06/27/2017

"Hello Theresa, Thank you for your review. We are glad to see that you had an overall good stay at Somerville's Escape. We would have gladly brought more propane out for you, along with a grill brush. We are sorry for the inconvenience this may have caused. As for the supply issue, we supply all of our homes with a starter pack of supplies. We now list this on our booking page so that future guests can be made aware. Thank you again for your review, and we hope to have you stay with us again soon on the Oregon coast."

Oregon Beach Vacations

Oregon Coast Lovers

Overall satisfaction:

"Outstanding property! Enjoyed seeing a small pod of whales on three separate occasions from the beautiful deck during our week visit. Home could use some updates and a bit more cleanliness, but the property and location was absolutely perfect and we loved our visit there! "

Steve & Barbara from Olympia

Dates of Stay 6/30/2016 - 7/7/2016
Reviewed on 07/08/2016

Somerville

Overall satisfaction: Property condition: Location: Cleanliness: Services from rental manager:

"The garbage and recyle bins were both full.2. Toilet in master bedroom was extremely dirty with brown stain.3. No extra rolls of toilet paper4. Overall, the house was not as clean comparing to other rentals in Oregon coast that I've stayed at. 5. Game room (blue room) has no heating. Thanks"

from Clackamas

Dates of Stay 7/20/2018 - 7/22/2018
Reviewed on 07/27/2018

Request More Info
Want to know specifics? Ask anything in reference to vacationing at this property that you would like to know...
Example: "Are fresh linens Provided?"
This Property has been looked at 7 times in 24 hours
OR
Find Available Dates For this Property